Space Delta 8

Delta 8, a component of the U.S. Space Force, was established and activated July 24, 2020. 

Delta 8 consists of three active duty squadrons headquartered at Schriever Space Force Base, Colorado: 4th and 53rd Space Operations Squadrons and 8th Combat Training Squadron; one unit headquartered at Peterson Space Force Base, Colorado: SATCOM Office; and one active duty squadron headquartered at Point Magu, California: 10th Space Operations Squadron.  

Delta 8 is mission-focused on Satellite Communications (SATCOM) and is the focal point for U.S. protected and assured Military Satellite Communications (MILSATCOM) to the President, Secretary of Defense, national decision makers, theater commanders, and strategic and tactical forces worldwide. The Delta commander executes command and control of the nation’s MILSATCOM constellation, develops and trains space warfighters, and delivers capabilities through 24/7 crew operations. 


The 4th Space Operations Squadron is responsible for the U.S. Space Force's protected and wideband Military Satellite Communications systems. They provide joint and coalition warfighters global, secure, survivable, strategic, and tactical communication during peacetime and throughout the full spectrum of conflict. The squadron also operates three mobile constellation control stations at various locations in conjunction with host partners. At higher readiness levels and during exercises, these personnel deploy with U.S. Strategic Command and U.S. Northern Command respectively. Additionally, they provide reliable space-borne communications to national authorities, U.S. and Allied forces. 4 SOPS' motto, "Linking the Forces," reflects the squadron's responsibility to enhance the nation's secure and wideband communications capability for today's military forces. The squadron is responsible for command and control of the Milstar/Advanced Extremely High Frequency, Defense Satellite Communications System Phase III, and Wideband Global Satellite Communications satellite constellations through dedicated Extremely High Frequency antennas and the Air Force Satellite Control Network. 

The 8th Combat Training Squadron’s mission is to “lead warfighter development for Satellite Communications (SATCOM) and Position, Navigation, and Timing (PNT) Guardians.” Specifically, 8 CTS leads training programs, evaluations, and policies to ensure combat readiness for Space Operations Command’s (SpOC) and the Department of Defense’s (DoD) largest Space Delta, which includes hundreds of operators, and five operational squadrons. The 8 CTS instructors and evaluators provide Mission Qualification Training, Upgrade Training, Instructor Qualification Training, Advanced Training, and all evaluations for four mission areas. 8 CTS graduates 200 students per year, manages 17 courses, and over 2,800 training products. Additionally, the squadron trains and certifies around 70 instructors per year from various units throughout the DoD. In support of operational readiness and modernization efforts, highly skilled instructors and evaluators provide the foundational and advanced knowledge necessary for the members of Space Delta 8 to be successful space warfighters. 
53 Space Operations Squadron provides mission assurance and continuous operational support through real-time correlated monitoring, control, and management of MILSATCOM through its five geographically separated Wideband SATCOM Operations Centers (WSOC). Our Guardians enable "Fight SATCOM" and provide user support 24/7/365 to the President, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, combatant commanders, ground mobile and maritime forces. The WSOCs are the first line of defense for assigned satellites, terminals, and users, providing assured access to DoD-owned wideband satellite communications worldwide. 

The 10 Space Operations Squadron mission includes operations of the Fleet Satellite (FLTSAT) constellation, the Ultra-High Frequency (UHF) Follow-On (UFO) constellation, and the Mobile User Objective System (MUOS) constellation capable of providing a combination of Extremely High Frequency (EHF), UHF, Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (WCDMA - 3G cellular technology), and Global Broadcast System (GBS) communications. Additionally, 10 SOPS operates two EHF packages that provide critical and protected strategic communications to military platforms operating in the northern polar region. Lastly, 10 SOPS provides critical voice and data communications for U.S. forces anytime and anywhere. 

The Satellite Communications Office executes continuous operational satellite communications (SATCOM) payload management and planning through its Consolidated SATCOM Systems Experts (C-SSEs) and Regional SATCOM Support Centers (RSSCs) in support of Combatant Commands, US Military Services, USG Agencies and International Partners. 

The Army Air Forces' 50th Pursuit Group stood up Jan. 15, 1941, and inactivated at La Junta Army Airfield, Colorado, Nov. 7, 1945, after earning a distinguished flying record over forward bases in Europe during World War II. The group activated in the Air Force Reserve on June 1, 1949 as a component of the 50th Fighter Wing. It was re-designated the 50th Fighter-Interceptor Group on March 1, 1950 before inactivating on June 2, 1951. Re-designated 50th Fighter-Bomber Group, the unit again activated as a component of the 50th Fighter-Bomber Wing at Clovis AFB, New Mexico, to equip and train preparatory to reassignment to Hahn Air Base, Germany. The group inactivated on Dec. 8, 1957 as part of an Air Force reorganization of combat wings. The 50th Operations Group stood up at Falcon AFB (later changed to Schriever AFB) Jan. 30, 1992, the same day as the 50th Space Wing. When the 50th OG activated, its crews – formerly the crews of the 2nd SW – monitored satellites during launch operations, maneuvered them into proper orbits and maintained their health in space. With the signing of the National Defense Authorization Act, the 50th OG was realigned from Air Force Space Command to the U.S. Space Force on Dec. 20, 2019. A portion of the 50th OG was re-designated Delta 8 on July 24, 2020. 

(Current as of October 2023)