Space Delta 9

Space Delta 9, a component of the U.S. Space Force, was established and activated July 24, 2020. 

Delta 9 consists of three active duty squadrons headquartered at Schriever Space Force Base, Colorado: 1st and 3rd Space Operations Squadrons, 9th Combat Training Squadron, and one operational Detachment. 


The mission of Delta 9 is to prepare, present, and project assigned and attached forces for the purpose of conducting protect and defend operations and providing national decision authorities with response options to deter and, when necessary, defeat orbital threats. Additionally, Delta 9 supports Space Domain Awareness by conducting space-based battlespace characterization operations and also conducts on-orbit experimentation and technology demonstrations for the U.S. Space Force. 


The 1st Space Operations Squadron conducts space-based battlespace characterization operations in support of Space Domain Awareness. 1 SOPS operates the Operationally Responsive Space 5, and Geosynchronous Space Situational Awareness Program in support of CDRUSSPACECOM requirements. 

The 3rd Space Operations Squadron conducts on-orbit operations in support of CDRUSSPACECOM requirements. 

The 9th Combat Training Squadron ensures the combat readiness of Delta 9 by building, developing, and equipping space professionals for orbital warfare. The squadron is responsible for training, intelligence, weapons and tactics, and other operational support necessary to enable Delta 9 to conduct its on-orbit protect and defend mission across the spectrum of conflict. 

Delta 9 Detachment 1 oversees operations of the X-37B Orbital Test Vehicle, an experimental program designed to demonstrate technologies for a reliable, reusable, unmanned space test platform for the U.S. Space Force. 


Space Delta 9 was previously designated as the 750th Operations Group, which was established June 19, 2020. The group was re-designated Space Delta 9 on July 24, 2020 as part of the U.S. Space Force’s structure change. Delta 9 has no heraldry associated with former Air Force units. 

(Current as of February 2024)