Levitow winner strives for excellence

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Ryan Prince
  • Peterson-Schriever Garrison Public Affairs
U.S. Air Force Chief Master Sgt. Sevin Balkuvvar, Peterson-Schriever Garrison command chief, awards Senior Airman Michael Macdonald, 21st Operational Medical Readiness Squadron mental health technician, the John Levitow Award during the Airman Leadership School Graduation Ceremony at Peterson Space Force Base, Colorado, Oct. 14, 2021. The John Levitow Award is the highest award earned in enlisted Professional Military Education by the student with the overall highest average of instructor and student points. The award is named after John Levitow, the only Air Force member to receive the Medal of Honor during the Vietnam War. He received it at the rank of Airman 1st Class, making him the lowest ranking recipient of the award, to date. (U.S. Space Force photo by Airman 1st Class Ryan Prince)