Chief Master Sergeant Alex Birkle


Chief Master Sergeant Alex Birkle serves as the Senior Enlisted Leader for Space Delta 3, Peterson Space Force Base, Colorado. Comprised of 4 squadrons with 400 Guardians and Airmen across multiple specialties, Space Delta 3 is responsible for presenting combat-ready Space Electromagnetic Warfare professionals to integrate, synchronize, and execute fires for U.S., allied, and coalition forces.

Chief Birkle enlisted in the Army in 2000, during his junior year of high school. His early career was served as Team Sergeant, Section Sergeant, Platoon Sergeant, Operations Noncommission Officer in Charge, and Division Cyberspace Electromagnetic Activities Noncommissioned Officer in Charge. Chief Birkle’s experiences include 5 combat deployments in Iraq, Africa, Europe, and Afghanistan. Prior to his transfer to U.S. Space Force Chief Birkle was the Cyberspace Electromagnetic Activities Noncommission Officer in Charge for Headquarters and Headquarters Company, 10th Special Forces Group (Airborne), Fort Carson, Colorado. In this position Chief Birkle supervised and performed military actions involving the use of the electromagnetic spectrum to maintain friendly use, while identifying, attributing, exploiting, and mitigating hostile use of the electromagnetic spectrum.

Chief Birkle applied for the United States Space Force in March 2021 and was notified that he was selected in October 2021 while deployed in support of Special Operations Command Europe. On 17 May 2022 he enlisted into the United States Space Force and assumed the responsibility as the Senior Enlisted Leader of the 16th Electromagnetic Warfare Squadron.

2001 Basic Military Training, Fort Benning, GA
2002 Advanced Individual Training, Fort Lee, VA
2005 Preliminary Leadership Development Course, Schofield Barracks, HI
2010 Associates of Arts in General Studies, Central Texas College, Killeen, TX
2010 Basic Noncommissioned Officer Course, Schofield Barracks, HI
2012 Airborne School, Fort Benning, GA
2012 Army Electronic Warfare Course, Fort Sill, OK
2015 Senior Leader Course, Fort Sill, OK
2018 Battle Staff Course, Fort Campbell, KY
2018 Master Leader Course, Fort Campbell, KY
2018 Joint Electronic Warfare Course, Lanckland AFB, TX
2022 Bachelor of Arts in Business, American Military University, Charles Town, WV

1. Nov 2000-Jan 2004, Petroleum Supply Specialist, Headquarters and Headquarters’ Company, 380th Quartermaster Battalion, Evansville, IN
2. Jan 2004-Oct 2005, Petroleum Heavy Vehicle Operator, 82nd Engineer Company, 2nd Infantry Division, Camp Edwards, Korea
3. Oct 2005-Aug 2010, Team Sergeant, 82nd Engineer Company, 25th Infantry Division, Schofield Barracks, HI
4. Aug 2010-Jun 2012, Squad Leader, Alpha Company, 101st Forward Support Battalion, 1st Infantry Division, Fort Riley, KS
5. Jun 2012-Jan 2017, Electronic Warfare Sergeant, 2nd Battalion, 10th Special Forces Group (Airborne), Fort Carson, CO
6. Jan 2017-Oct 2018, S3 NCOIC, 2-327 Infantry Battalion, 1st Brigade Combat Team, 101st Infantry Division (Airborne), Fort Campbell, Ky
7. Oct 2018-Apr 2020, Division Electronic Warfare NCOIC, 4th Infantry Division, Fort Carson, CO
8. Apr 2020-May 2022, Special Operations Electronic Warfare NCOIC, 10th Special Forces Group (Airborne), Fort Carson, CO
9. May 2022-Jun 2023, Senior Enlisted Leader, 16th Electromagnetic Warfare Squadron, Peterson SFB, CO
10. Jun 2023-Present, Senior Enlisted leader, Space Delta 3, Peterson SFB, CO

Defense Meritorious Service Medal
Meritorious Service Medal with one oak leaf cluster
Army Commendation Medal with four oak leaf clusters
Joint Service Achievement Medal with one oak leaf cluster and one “C” device
Army Achievement Medal with four oak leaf clusters
Joint Meritorious Unit Commendation
Valorous Unit Award
Good Conduct Medal with six loop devices
Afghan Campaign Medal with one service star
Iraq Campaign Medal with two service stars
Korean Defense Service Medal
NATO Medal
Parachute Badge
Basic Space Badge

Private (E1) 7 November 2000
Private First Class (E3) 1 September 2002
Specialist (E4) 1 January 2004
Sergeant (E5) 1 June 2007
Staff Sergeant (E6) 1 June 2011
Sergeant First Class (E7) 1 May 2014
Master Sergeant (E8) 1 January 2019
Chief Master Sergeant (E9) 1 February 2023

(Current as of Jan 2023)